Paleo mayo and Ranch Dressing

DSCN3206

There are all kinds of mayo recipes out there. They are all more or less the same. Some people prefer using an immersion blender, others prefer a food processor, or a blender. Some people fail over and over again until they find a method that works. This is only way I can make mayo. I’ve tried the immersion blender method, and it broke, I tried using only egg yolks, and it broke. I tried the methods to fix it and it didn’t work. But this method never fails for me. Ever.

  • 1 whole large egg
  • 1.5 tbs. acid of choice (vinegar or citrus juice)
  • 1 cup neutral tasting oil. I prefer Chosen Foods refined avocado oil from Costco.
  • pinch salt

I keep my oil and vinegar at room temp already. The recipe I started off using to make mayo really stressed letting everything come to room temp, especially the egg. It said to let everything sit out for at least an hour. Well, I don’t have that kind of time most days.

I have a plain old simple Oster blender. For mayo, you want something gentle. A high-powered blender like a vitamix or blendtech are just too much. A basic blender is perfect. I start off by cracking the egg into the blender pitcher, then add the vinegar. I swirl it around a little until the egg is broken up and mixed with the vinegar, then let it sit for about 15 minutes. Then I add a pinch of salt and measure out my oil. Put the jar on the motor base, put the lid on with the center removed so you can drizzle oil without it splattering everywhere. Turn the blender onto the lowest speed, then start drizzling the oil in as slowly as possible. After about half the oil is incorporated, the sound of the blender will change as the mayo begins to thicken. Just keep drizzling. My blender has this tendency to get an air bubble trapped around the blades and it stops moving the food around if it’s too thick. If this happens, I just stop drizzling the oil, shut off the blender, and tap it gently against the counter until the air bubble pops, then continue the process until all the oil is incorporated.

Ranch dressing. When I was a kid, it was the only dressing I would eat. You know, the kraft stuff out of a bottle. In highschool, everyone put it on everything: burgers, pizza, fries, sandwiches, you name it. I had by then grown out of it and preferred a nice red wine vinaigrette or caesar. But the other day I was stuck for something for dinner until I remembered I had all the fixins for a chef’s salad and a home-made ranch sounded good.

  • 1 batch paleo mayo
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbs. fresh parsley
  • 2 tbs. fresh dill
  • 2 tbs. fresh chives or scallions

Mince the parsley, dill, and chives or scallions. Place in the blender with the mayo, lemon juice, and salt and pulse until combined.

DSCN3207

Leave a Reply

