Nightshade-free ketchup

I react very badly to tomatoes. I did the autoimmune protocol strict for 3 months. No eggs, no dairy, no nightshades, no grains, no legumes, no nuts, no seeds, no processed foods. After 3 months, I started reintroducing foods. I waited about a year before reintroducing tomatoes and my psoriasis flared the worst it’s ever been; painful, red, skin peeling off, bleeding through my clothes. It was bad. I tried carrot ketchup, but it was missing that depth and richness that tomatoes lend to foods. I’d already, in my opinion, perfected nightshade-free barbecue sauce, so I thought I’d give perfecting carrot ketchup a try. I think this is it.

  • 1 small beet
  • 1 pound carrots
  • 4 cups apple juice
  • 1 tbs. molasses
  • 1.5 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. fish sauce
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon*
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • Pinch cloves
  • ½ c. white wine vinegar (or whatever vinegar you like)

Fill a 2 quart saucepan about halfway with water and bring to a boil. Peel and coarsely dice the beet and add it to the water. Boil the beet for 10 minutes, then strain off the water. Roughly dice the carrots and add them to the pot with the beet, then pour in the four cups of apple juice. Bring to a boil and keep it boiling until the liquid has reduced by almost half and the carrots are tender.

Pour the mixture, liquid and all, into a food processor and begin blending. Add the remaining ingredients while it blends to mix them in. You want to blend it for a very long time to get it very smooth. Up to 5 or more minutes. Stop it and scrape down the sides frequently to make sure it all gets blended in.

Use as you would tomato ketchup on meatloaf, burgers, and as a base for other sauces.

*I use ceylon cinnamon, which is much milder than standard cassia cinnamon. If you are using cassia cinnamon, you may want to use a bit less.

DSCN3521

One thought on “Nightshade-free ketchup

Leave a Reply

