Basic Poultry Seasoning

DSCN3582

Every week I buy two whole chickens and roast them. The first night I usually roast 3-4 sweet potatoes with them, and sautee some greens or have a side salad with them. The second night I put the leftover chicken on a salad with crumbled bacon, kalamata olives, cucumbers, and other yummy toppings. The third night I shred what’s left of the chicken up and make a casserole or other similar dish.

Before I went AIP, I found a junk-free poultry seasoning powder that was really good by Frontier in the bulk section of the grocery store. But it had nightshades in it. So I decided to come up with my own blend. I’ve been using this herb blend for a year and a half now and it’s the perfect compliment to roasted chicken.

  • 1/2 c. dried celery leaves
  • 1/2 c. dried parsley
  • 1/4 c. granulated onion
  • 1/4 c. dried sage
  • 1/4 c. dried thyme
  • 1/4 c. dried marjoram
  • 2 tbs. granulated garlic
  • 2 tbs. ground black pepper
  • 1 tbs. oregano

Add everything to the bowl of a food processor and blend until well combined and the herbs are crushed into a fine powder. Coat chicken with fat of choice, then sprinkle with salt and poultry seasoning inside and out. The measurements don’t have to be exact, I usually just eyeball them, and you can add or subtract other herbs if you like.

Leave a Reply

