Nightshade-free Garam Masala

20160527_144420In my journey I’ve been able to reintroduce most seed spices, but nightshades still cause a reaction. I absolutely love Indian food, but it’s full of nightshades, so I haven’t been able to enjoy it for quite a while, aside from the few AIP curry recipes I’ve been able to find.

I decided to make a nightshade free garam masala spice mix so that I could enjoy Indian food once again. I looked at a number of recipes online and picked out what I liked about each of them and compiled my list of spices.

20160527_144424

  • 2 Tbs. whole coriander seeds
  • 1 Tbs. whole cumin seeds
  • 1/2 Tbs. ground cardamom (or 4-5 cardamom pods)
  • 2 tsp. whole black peppercorns
  • 1/2 tsp. whole cloves
  • 1 tsp. whole fennel seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. mace
  • 4-5 miniature dried rosebuds
  • 1 tsp. ground ceylon cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. dried ground turmeric
  • 2-3 bay leaves

Combine the whole coriander seeds, whole cumin seeds, whole peppercorns, whole cloves, whole fennel seeds, whole cardamom pods (if using), and bay leaves in a small skillet and toast over medium heat until fragrant. Place in a spice grinder with the remaining already ground spices and rosebuds and grind until the mixture is a fine powder. Use in place of store-bought garam masala spice blend in recipies.

20160527_144406

Leave a Reply

